• Sun. Jul 14th, 2024


We Break the News

CBN: Tinubu Appoints Five Board Directors, Urges Senate for thorough Assessment

President Tinubu has nominated five individuals to serve as Directors on the Board of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN). He has also requested the Senate’s thorough assessment and approval.

The appointed Five Directors to the Board are as follow:

  1. Robert Agbide
  2. Ado Wanga
  3. Muritala Sagaley
  4. Urom Eke
  5. Olayinka Aliyu.

The President, on Tuesday, February 13, Tinubu requested the Senate to thoroughly assess and approve the nomination of five individuals for the Director roles in the Board of the CBN.

In a letter that was directed to the Senate President, Godswill Akpabio, and read during the plenary session on Tuesday, Tinubu made a request.

The letter reads in part: “In compliance with the provisions of Section 6, subsection 1b and section 10 subsection 1 and 2 of the Central Bank of Nigeria Establishment Act, 2007.

“I am pleased to present for confirmation by the Senate, the appointment of the under-listed five persons as Directors of the Board of Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN).

“Robert Agbide, Ado Wanga, Muritala Sagaley, Urom Eke and Olayinka Aliyu.

“While hoping that the request will receive the expeditious consideration of the Senate, please accept the distinguished Senate President, the assurance of my highest regards.”

By News Editor

Our News Editor, Muyiwa is an information management expert and Development Blogger with more than a decade experience in investigative reporting and journalism. He is passionate about human angle stories to all social issues in Nigeria and Africa.