The attention of the Nigerian Youth Parliament has been drawn to the recent publication of the youths from the Northern extraction under the aegis of the Northern Nigerian Youth Coalition on its purported issuance of the quit notice on indigenes of the South Eastern States of our dear Nation. More worrisome is the rash acceptance of this balkanizing position by the Movement for the Actualisation of the Sovereign State of Biafra (MASSOB).

As the Apex Youth legislative body in our great Nation, Nigeria saddled with the statutory responsibility of representing the Nigerian Youth and act as their authentic voice, unrepentantly committed to the oneness, unity, sanctity and sacrosanctity of the Nation. The Presiding Officers, Principal Officers and the Caucus Leaders particularly the Northern caucus convoked an emergency meeting and after a dispassionate and objective deliberation on this burning issue we unanimously resolve as follows:

The Parliament condemns in its totality and entirety this unpatriotic, sectional, unconstitutional and parochial statement and position which does not represent the general interest of the Youth but that of a misinformed and selfish few making the so called Kaduna treaty or convention a nullity.

Investigations revealed that this was done without due consultation with the genuine Northern Youth Stakeholders and Leaders. This disheartening stance came to us as a rude shocker because Youth who have been solely relied upon as champions of the detribalised, free, just and developed Nigeria we all dream of and work assiduously towards its attainment could descend so low into the murky waters of polarisation and ethnic bigotry.

We urge all well meaning Nigerians to discard and disregard this ill informed position and unguarded statement capable of inciting ethnic and civil wars thereby truncating the relative peace enjoyed in the Country required to actualize the change agenda of the Federal Government.

From today, 7th of June, 2017, we issue a 14 days ultimatum to these group to rescind and retract this malicious, myopic and treasonable threat or appropriate legal action will be instituted asgainst them. Knowing fully well that sections 41(1) of the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria guarantees the right to freedom of movement and also allows any citizen of Nigeria irrespective of his or her tribe, and religion to reside and conduct lawful business anywhere within the country.

After the retraction of this divisive statement, we strongly advice that the negative energy, intellect and every other resources intended to actualize this disillusionary, imaginary, abstract and unrealisable objective should be dedicated to the establishment of Good Governance, Anti Corruption, Economic Prosperity, Security, Sustainable Youth Empowerment and Unity in the Country.
Also, all concerned Elders and Youths in the frontline of the agitation for the restructuring of the country into a proper and true federating States and units should properly educate, sensitize and enlighten their followers on this sensitive issue and clearly distill the difference between the restructuring and secession.

MASSOB is thereby advised to seek peaceful and legal means of championing their agitations and desist from making statements capable of further dividing the frail and fragile Country along ethnic lines.

We hereby call on federal government to live up to its primary responsibility of securing lives and properties of Nigerians and thereby put proactive security machineries in place to ensure the safety of Nigerians anywhere they reside and conduct their lawful businesses particularly the Igbos living in the Northern as we must continue to co exist peacefully with each other with love understanding and tolerance. In our diversity lies our strength.
Long Live The Peace Loving Youth of Nigeria!
Long Live The Federal Republic Of Nigeria!!
Rt Hon Obe Ayodele(Ondo Central), Speaker, Nigerian Youth Parliament
Rt Hon Maryam Abass(Kaduna North), Deputy Speaker
Hon Wisdom Kieribo(Bayelsa Central), Majority Leader
Hon Umar Etudaye(Kogi Central), Deputy Majority Leader
Hon Obande Gideon Obande(Benue West), Minority Leader
Hon Lily-Carol Nnwabuife(Anambra South), Deputy Minority Leader
Hon Emmanuel George(Taraba North), Chief Whip
Hon Amarachi Orji(Abia South), Minority Whip
Hon Sanusi Yakubu(Sokoto East) Chairman, committee on Ethics and Privileges
Hon Ibrahim Ayuba( Gombe Central), ag. Chairman, committee on Rules and Business
Hon Bello Karaye( Kano North), Chairman, Northwest Caucus
Hon Kabir Zubairu(Katsina South), Secretary, Northwest Caucus
Hon Zannah Zakariya(Yobe ZoneC), Chairman, Northeast Caucus.
Hon Jinadu Yawe(Taraba Central), Secretary, Northeast Caucus
Hon Velshik Philip Karme(Plateau Central), Chairman, Northcentral Caucus
Hon Yakubu Harirat(Kogi East), Secretary, Northcentral Caucus
Hon Owolabi Babatunde Tunde(Osun Central), Chairman, Southwest Caucus
Hon Adesanya John Julius(Ogun East), Secretary, Southwest Caucus.
Hon Okporu Augustin(Delta Central), Chairman, Southsouth Caucus
Hon Atti Moses(Bayelsa West), Secretary, Southsouth Caucus
Hon Nebo Collins(Enugu West), Chairman, Southeast Caucus
Hon Onwe Peters Darlington(Ebonyi Central), Secretary, Southeast Caucus

By Dotun Roy is a development driven news website with the overall goal of amplifying, promoting and advocating for positive societal change through Sustainable Development advocacy in line with UN SDGs components such as education, environmental sustainability and Climate Change, Human Rights, health, finance, housing, good governance as well as security in Nigeria and across the world.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)